Subscribe to RSS feeds

Archive for May 30th, 2007


May30
by Jhoevine Capicio (Advanced Threats Researcher)

It seems Italy is fast becoming the hub of malware authors. I still remember the nasty days when the Linkoptim also known as Gromozon malware was spreading like wildfire throughout the net. And now typo-squatters have followed the lead of LinkOptim to again plague the Italian surfers. For those unfamiliar with typo-squatting, you can read more about it here. Internet users in Italy are currently under attack by a massive typo-squatting made by malware authors. Some of the URLs used by this attack are listed below.



  • 3bay.it
  • 4repubblica.it
  • aklitalia.it
  • corrieere.it
  • eba6y.it
  • eba7y.it
  • fgazzetta.it
  • fgoogle.it
  • gazzetra.it
  • gazzettaa.it
  • katsaweb.it
  • mnsn.it
  • tyiscali.it
  • tyttogratis.it

For a full list of URLs used in the attack, download the pdf file here. (Courtesy of Sunbelt-Software.) The page shown below is loaded upon visiting these URLs.
2.JPG
Here is a babelfish translation of the words on the page. Impossible to find the page demanded In order to visualize the demanded page the modernization of Internet Explorer (direct link to a malware file) is necessary. In alternative, it finds on Extra Search the tried page.


  • 1. Through the internet explorer link.
  • 2. Through the search form provided in the page.
  • 3. Through the toolbar link.
  • 4. Through the video.
  • 5. Through the extraricerca icon.

      All typo-squatter links listed above leads to the same page. A whois lookup also shows the same results among the URLs.

      Status: ACTIVE
      Created: 2005-08-24 00:00:00
      Last Update: 2007-05-08 16:43:56
      Expire Date: 2007-08-24

      Registrant
      Name: PROLAT
      ContactID: PROL20-ITNIC
      Address: zip: LV-5400
      DE
      Created: 2007-03-01 10:27:17
      Last Update: 2007-03-01 10:27:17

      Admin Contact
      Name: Bojarovs Aleksejs
      ContactID: BA3396-ITNIC
      Address: street: Grodnas 42/72
      zip: LV-5400
      city: Daugavpils
      DE
      Created: 2005-06-13 00:00:00
      Last Update: 2007-03-01 07:48:12

      Technical Contacts
      Name: Bojarovs Aleksejs
      ContactID: BA3396-ITNIC
      Address: street: Grodnas 42/72
      zip: LV-5400
      city: Daugavpils
      DE
      Created: 2005-06-13 00:00:00
      Last Update: 2007-03-01 07:48:12

      Registrar
      Organization: FROG
      Name: PROLAT-MNT

      Nameservers
      ns1.metallichosting.com
      ns2.metallichosting.com


      It also shows that the URLs used in the attack have been in existence since August of 2005.
      Typo-squatting is not new; in fact it has existed for a long time now and has also been known to be used by other malwares in the past. Mostly the targets are big companies or websites which are frequented by most internet users like google.com and microsoft.com. Even Trend Micro has been a target of this in the past, I posted a diary entry about this last year.
      The malware authors ultimately rely on the user’s carelessness in order to be successful.


      So to mitigate, users should be careful how they type. Also for sites that are frequently used, you should just bookmark it so that no typing would be necessary. Microsoft has also released a software called Strider URL Tracer which is made to combat typo-squatting. And last for the security admins, especially for the ones in Italy, you can download the whole list of the URLs used in the recent attack from Sunbelt-Software and block them from your network. This way all users even the careless ones are protected from this attack. This doesn’t give excuse to be careless though. We should always be vigilant and have security on our minds especially when critical data are being handled.


    •  
      Posted in Uncategorized | TrackBacks (2) »

      May30
      by Sheryll Tiauzon (Advanced Threats Researcher)

      I’m pretty sure most, if not all, of us have already heard about the phenomenal pay-to-play MMORPG called “World of Warcraft”. With over 8 million subscribers worldwide and more than 2 million in just the United states alone. Well, upon seeing these numbers it wouldn’t be a surprise to learn that Malware authors have taken advantage of the games popularity to spread some other malware cheer.


      Just recently another set of websites have been found to contain variants of TSPY_WOW and TROJ_ANICMOO.AX. TSPY_WOW variants are basically known to monitor users internet browsing activities as well as steal information related to the online game World of Warcraft such as usernames and passwords.


      Users should be wary of the sites they visit as they may often look like the official WOW site. Below is a list of domains that were recently verified to host malicious files:



      • http://world0fwarcraft.net
      • http://www.wor1dofwarcraft.com

       
      Posted in Uncategorized | 1 TrackBack »


      © Copyright 2008 Trend Micro Inc. All rights reserved. Legal Notice