Subscribe to RSS feeds

Archive for September 14th, 2007


Sep14
by Lordian Mosuela (Threats Analyst)

We have received a number of cases today regarding the verification of the following New Zealand Web sites:

  • hxxp://www.msncheckstatus.tk
  • hxxp://www.real-msn.tk
  • hxxp://www.instant-messenger.tk
  • hxxp://www.msndelete-contacts.tk
  • hxxp://www.get-contacts-messenger.tk

Once visited, these sites direct users to hxxp://www.get-messenger.com, a site for Get Messenger. It is a tool capable of logging into MSN Messenger® servers as a regular instant messaging (IM) client. It authenticates users using the user account and password, retrieves his or her contact list, analyses it and shows which contacts removed the user from the contact list.

Screenshot of Get Messenger Web site

The following is stated in the site’s FAQ page:

Is Messenger-Tips a Worm?

Definition: A computer worm is a self-replicating computer program. It uses a network to send copies of itself to other nodes (computer terminals on the network) and it may do so without any user intervention. Unlike a virus, it does not need to attach itself to an existing program. Worms always harm the network (if only by consuming bandwidth), whereas viruses always infect or corrupt files on a targeted computer.

Messenger-Tips does not send copies of itself, it does not work without user intervention and it does not harm the network or any computer. Messenger-Tips is not a worm.

Screenshot of Get Messenger Screen

However, the authentication method in delivering the account credentials, such as the user�s name and password, is not secure. Using Follow TCP Stream, an ethereal packet capture tool, we�re able to capture an instance when a user name and password are being sent to the program server. Below is the image capture:

Follow FTP Stream Capture

This type of insecurity can easily expose a user�s account information to online identity thieves.

Credits to Trend Threat Analyst Lordian Mosuela!

 
Posted in Uncategorized |

Sep14
by Trend Micro

Today, the storm malware has changed ways again. They are now spamming an email with a link to a domain, instead of individual IP addresses. The page has been designed to look more real than before so it might fool unaware users. Please, do not believe unexpected emails sending you to a supposed NFL tracker.

nfltracker.JPG

 
Posted in Uncategorized |


© Copyright 2008 Trend Micro Inc. All rights reserved. Legal Notice