Trend Micro Facebook TrendLabs Twitter Malware Blog RSS Feed You Tube - Trend Micro
Search our blog:

  • Recent Posts

  • Calendar

    June 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • About Us
    Malware Blog > 2009 > June> 25

    Archive for June 25th, 2009



    Jun25
    6:23 pm (UTC-7)   |    by

    Twitter is a very popular platform for expressing whatever is on a user’s mind, making it a favorite target of malware authors. Trend Micro has published several blog entries that discussed attacks on Twitter. Now, the creators of Koobface included a new component in the malware to target the vast number of Twitter users. They’ve come up with the latest update to the Koobface loader binary and other known Koobface components that target social networking sites like Facebook, MySpace, Hi5, Bebo, Tagged, and Netlog.

    The new component uses a victim’s Twitter account to post tweets using Internet-browsing cookies to log in to the target user’s account. Tweets can more successfully be posted when the victim is currently logged on to his/her Twitter account as the ‘evil’ Koobface binary runs in the background.


    Figure 1. Twitter account of an infected PC

    The supossed tweets are retrieved from a Koobface C&C domain and use Tinyurl.com to shorten and kind of obfuscate the URL included in the message.


    Figure 2. Network stream of an affected PC

    Visiting the posted URL leads to a Koobface redirector page that opens the same old ‘fake’ YouTube page that hosts the Koobface loader posing as an Adobe Flash Player update also known as the infamous setup.exe.


    Figure 3. Fake YouTube page that installs setup.exe

    As with earlier Koobface-related attacks, however, Trend Micro product users need not worry about being infected as Smart Protection Network already blocks malicious sites and files from running on their systems. They should, however, still keep in mind that an ounce of prevention is always better than a pound of cure.

    Related posts on Koobface:

    Twitter, likewise, was never that safe from attacks:

     alt=

    Update on June 28:

    Setup.exe is now detected as WORM_KOOBFACE.DC. It has the ability to fetch information from the affected PC and to send said info to URLs via HTTP POST.

    Moreover, Koobface writers immediately updated their mal-tweets, cleverly using current events related to Michael Jackson’s death. Luckily, the URL included in the message did not change and is still being blocked by Smart Protection Network.

    Along with the updated tweets is an update of a Koobface binary (TROJ_KOOBFACE.AJ) targeting Facebook. This binary is already being processed. More details will be provided as analysis progresses.

     



    As the controversy about Italian Prime Minister Silvio Berlusconi rises, spammers take advantage of the news to lure their victims to their malicious plots.

    The spammed mail claims to come from YouTube, but checking the domain of the sender reveals that it actually came from youtorube.com, and not from the real youtube.com.


    Figure 1. Notice the extra letters in the sender domain

    Below is the rough translation of the mail from Italian to English:

    Have you seen what combines our Chairman of the Silvio Berlusconi? You have followed your story on escort?
    Thanks to a journalist of LAW, we have the opportunity to see our premier while running along with the escort
    leaving little in the newspapers .. if you want to see them, and this link: http://you{BLOCKED}e.com/watchv=W3k9pMtrccQ.html
    TO VIEW THE VIDEO, AND ‘THE FOLLOWING IS NECESSARY TO INSTALL CODEC

    Below is the screenshot of the mail:


    Figure 2. Spam sample

    To view the said video, user must download and intall a video codec first. Upon clicking the link, it will download a malicious file named wmpcodec.exe. The spam mail is already detected in TMASE Full Pattern 6726, and all URLs are now blocked by Trend Micro. In addition, the malicious file is detected as WORM_KOLAB.DI.

     



    Cybercriminals take the low road once again as they pepper the Internet with blackhat SEO links that are likely to attract users searching for news about the death of Charlie’s Angels star Farrah Fawcett, who, at age 62, finally ended a long struggle with cancer.

    Blackhat
    Figure 1. Blackhat SEO links for Farrah Fawcett searches sets in

    Hosted on is-the-boss domains (last seen in the H1N1 blackhat SEO attack), the links that come up in search results redirect to other URLs that eventually land on all-too-familiar territory: a rogue antivirus download.

    In one specific infection chain traced by Research Manager Ivan Macalintal, the initial link redirects to another URL in the same domain, and then redirects another URL that has referrer checks before unfolding its contents. This is an evasion technique used by cybercriminals to avoid analysis by security researchers or being crawled (and rated) by search engines.

    Once the requester is cleared, the URL redirects to two more URLs before finally landing on a download page (within a certain thesecuritytools domain–now blocked by Trend Micro). The page downloads install.exe, which is a rogue antivirus detected as TROJ_FAKEAV.BBM.

    As this report is being written our engineers are analyzing the behavior of this malware. Trend Micro Smart Protection Network already blocks malicious URLs related to this attack.

    Not long after news of Farrah Fawcett’s passing hit mainstream news, singer/entertainer Michael Jackson likewise meets an untimely death. Users are advised to exercise extreme caution in searching for related news and information surrounding the deaths of these celebrities.

    One of the more famous blackhat SEO manipulation attack we have documented thus far include the attack that happened shortly after Heath Ledger’s death.

    Update (2:30 am (UTC-7)): TROJ_FAKEAV.BBM behaves fairly similarly to other rogue antivirus we’ve seen to date. Here’s a screenshot of its “scanning window”:

    TROJ_FAKEAV.BBM window
    Figure 2. The rogue antivirus program’s window

    Users who have the misfortune of coming across “System Security Antivirus” are advised to run their legitimate antivirus if this makes an appearance on their system.

     



    We have recently discovered a version, of online fraud that takes the guise of a legitimate-lookng news website. At first glance, the content of the purported news page appears real but after conducting further analysis, one will realize that the news page is actually a spammy site.

    googlecash1 googlecash2

    What’s supposed to be a news article is actually an writeup that explains how Google can supposedly provide online users the opportunity to earn easy money. To make it more convincing, the page also claims to have several positive responses from anonymous online users. Clicking any of the links from the spam website shown above leads to a phishing page.

    googlecash3The page contains a spoofed countdown timer that hopes to make the user panic and quickly fill up the form. Clicking the See If I Qualify button then directs the user to another page containing an affirmation of the user’s qualifications, which will then require him/her to fill up another form with his/her credit card information.

    Related phishing schemes have also been found using the same technique but with different keywords other than Google Cash Club. Below are some of the keywords used:

    • Make Money with Google
    • Google Money Monster
    • Google Home Income
    • Easy Google Profit
    • Google’s Business Kit

    Inquiries on the legitimacy of the service have been posted on Google’s support forum, and we agree with what most of the users have posted: Google Cash Club is a scam.

    The phishing URL is already blocked by the Trend Micro Smart Protection Network.

     


     

    © Copyright 2011 Trend Micro Inc. All rights reserved. Legal Notice