Oct22 |
6:09 am (UTC-7) | by
Joey Costoya (Senior Threat Researcher) |
In this most recent spam campaign, our spam traps caught an uncanny combination of a CapitalOne phish and a ZBOT variant. Below is a screenshot of an email sample making the rounds:


The websites for both the CapitalOne and Bank of America phishing attacks are all hosted on fast flux domains, and uses wildcarded subdomains. Here’s a list of some of the domains actually used:
- 11qioz.co.uk
- 11qwod.co.uk
- easder1q.co.uk
- f1iiitl.com
- iiizad1z.co.uk
- ij1tli.com
- ltiil1.com
- nekz1mqv.co.uk
- nezz1cza.co.uk
- racder1c.net
- racder1x.com
- raeder1f.net
- rarder1g.com
- raxsder1.com
- t1fliil.tc
- tj1fiil.co.nz
- uunuyr.com
- yyy1yyrd.co.uk
- yyy1yyre.co.uk
- yyy1yyrf.co.uk
- yyy1yyrg.co.uk
- yyy1yyrj.co.uk
- yyy1yyrk.co.uk
- yyy1yyrl.co.uk
- yyy1yyrm.co.uk
- yyy1yyro.co.uk
- yyy1yyrq.co.uk
- yyy1yyrr.co.uk
- yyy1yyru.co.uk
- yyy1yyrv.co.uk
- yyy1yyrx.co.uk
The IP addresses these fast flux domains point to are comprised of residential broadband IP addresses, suggesting that the machines serving the websites’ contents are hosted on compromised residential PCs. The current spam campaigns (digital certificate lure) and its corresponding websites (fast flux, wildcarded subdomains) share the same characteristics like last year’s SSL Certificate spam campaign. A screenshot of last year’s spam campaign is shown below.
It looks like as though the same group has reemerged using the same tactic they’ve used last year. Maybe last year’s campaign has been successful enough that they’re hoping to duplicate the winning formula in the recent spam wave.
Trend Micro users are now protected from this attack through the Smart Protection Network. Non-users of Trend Micro producs, on the other hand, can opt to stay protected by using the eMail ID and Web Protection Add-On.













