Mar14 |
9:19 am (UTC-7) | by
Noriaki Hayashi (Senior Threat Researcher) |
Earlier today, we found a phishing site that poses as a donation site to raise money for the victims of the recent earthquake in Japan. The phishing site http://www.japan{BLOCKED}.com is created by using an open-source social networking system Jcow 4.2.1. It is hosted on the IP address 50.61.{BLOCKED}.{BLOCKED}, which is located in the United States. We’ve confirmed that the site is still active as of this writing.
![]() |
![]() |
Aside from hosting a phishing site, the cybercriminals behind this attack also abused the blog function of the website and inserted advertisement-looking posts, possibly to increase the site’s SEO ranking.
![]() |
Such attacks are not uncommon as we’ve previously documented instances of attacks that leveraged natural disasters such as Hurricane Katrina in 2005, Hurricane Gustav in 2008, Chinese Sichuan earthquake in 2008, the latest attack used the Haiti earthquake in 2010.
Users should remember to choose trustworthy organizations when it comes to handing over their donations.
The Trend Micro™ Smart Protection Network™, through the Web reputation technology already blocks access to this phishing site even if a user is duped into clicking its link.
![]() |
Update as of March 17, 2011, 10:44 PM Pacific Time
We’ve received report from the Council of Anti-Phishing Japan that they’ve seen a similiar phishing site also leveraging on this tragic event. The phishing page poses as the organization Japan Red Cross Society and asks users to send their donations through PayPal.

The said phishing site is now blocked through the Web Reputation Service. Users are strongly advised to steer clear of such sites, and make sure that they go directly to the websites of their organization of choice when sending donations. The real URL for the Japanese Red Cross Society website is http://www.jrc.or.jp.
Share this article |
|
13 Responses to “Phishing Attack Uses Fake Donation Website”
Trackbacks
- TrendLabs (TrendLabs)
- jhaggett (Jamie Haggett)
- TrendMicro (TrendMicro)
- luizsrabelo (Luiz Rabelo)
- msaitotypeR (M Saito)
- rockontom (Tom Morris)
- 2020plus1 (Alan Potts)
- Hoax BBC Fukushima radiation SMS texts | Vishnu Valentino Hacking Tutorial, Tips and Trick
- Trend Micro Asia Pacific News Library - Phishing Attack Uses Fake Donation Website
- Disasters Present Cybercriminals Multiple Points to Leverage | Simply Security
- Phishing Attack Uses Fake Donation Website | Simply Security








March 21st, 2011 at 7:13 am
Hi, I recently received e-mail from someone who I trust saying that a good friend of her who lives in Japan has suggested this website as one of the plausible real ones:
"http://www.google.co.jp/intl/en/crisisresponse/japanquake2011.html"
and who also linked in here to check for information of phishing on this subject.
Could you report if this site is legit, or at least if it has not yet been flagged as a phishing site?
Thanks,
March 21st, 2011 at 5:06 pm
Hi Eki,
Yes, that site is maintained by Google and is 100% legitimate.