Trend Micro Facebook TrendLabs Twitter Malware Blog RSS Feed You Tube - Trend Micro
Search our blog:

  • Recent Posts

  • Calendar

    February 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan    
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    26272829  
  • About Us
    Malware Blog > Seeing double

    Aug24
    7:07 am (UTC-7)   |    by

    Last month, a suspicious domain was found to be associated with a certain malware: vvindowsupdate.com. Notice the double Vs used to replace the W–an obvious way to trick users into thinking that this is the real Windows Update link. Well, phishers are picking up where this month-old tactic left off to dupe users into giving out account details. Western Union subscribers are targeted by the following phishing email discovered by the Content Security team here at Trend Micro :



    westernuniondoublev_img1.gif



    When users mouse over the Activate link within the message, notice that the URL that it leads to is vvestreunion.com. Aside from the double v, there’s also a noticeable misspelling on the domain name. Phishers are still counting on social engineering to scam users.



    It is always safe to double-check anything before believing in it. Phishing email messages are usually spammed to random email addresses, so if you receive a similar email but are not a subscriber of Western Union–or, in general, if you receive any email from any institution that you are not associated with in any way–it is recommended that you report it to Trend Micro for further investigation. It is also best to delete said message.





    Share this article
    Get the latest on malware protection from TrendLabs
    Email this story to a friend   Technorati   NewsVine   MySpace   Google   Live   del.icio.us   StumbleUpon




    No Responses to “Seeing double”

    Trackbacks

    1. Security Tips » Double V Could Be Double Trouble


     

    © Copyright 2011 Trend Micro Inc. All rights reserved. Legal Notice