Trend Micro Facebook TrendLabs Twitter Malware Blog RSS Feed You Tube - Trend Micro
Search our blog:


  • Recent Posts

  • Calendar

    April 2015
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar    
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Email Subscription

  • About Us


    Author Archive - Christopher Talampas (Fraud Analyst)




    TrendLabs Content Security has come upon a new phishing attack that leads to the download of malware. However, unlike most instances where phishing baits are usually banks, credit unions or other financial institutions, this time it uses the popular social networking Web site MySpace.com.

    The phishing URL may be contained in spammed email messages. Once recipients of said messages click or visit the URL, it displays a spoofed MySpace login page. It also uses a popup window declaring a supposed MySpace profile object error and requires that the user download the new version of a new MySpace profile object.

    Therein lies the trick: When the user clicks the “continue” button, malicious files are not only downloaded but also automatically installed. The said malicious files are detected as TROJ_ZLOB.GUZ and BKDR_IRCBOT.BGY.

    And if the user tries to exit the page, it will not close until the said file is downloaded. To exit, a user needs to terminate the program using Task Manager.

    Trend Micro users, of course, are already safe from this threat, as the phishing URL hxxp://{BLOCKED}ce404-error.farvista.net/myspace.php is already blocked by Trend Micro’s Web Threat Protection (WTP) technology. For other users, however, it pays to be vigilant.

     
    Posted in Bad Sites | Comments Off



    Trend Micro’s Content Security Web Blocking Team has recently encountered attempts to phish account information of users that subscribe to Google’s advertising platform, Google AdWords. The phishing email message appears to be from Google Adwords and tells the user to log on to Adwords and update their billing information, as shown in the image below:

    Google AdWord Phishing image

    It instructs the user to click a link which appears to the user as a legitimate Google Adwords link, but actually leads to a malicious Web site. Account information entered by the unknowing user on the malicious Web site is then sent to an unauthorized user.

    Such technique may trick to most users, making them think the URL shown in the message will connect them to the legitimate Web site. Furthermore, Google is generally known for its sparse, clean email and Web site interfaces so this simple-looking email message can be quite convincing. Users are advised to report it here if they receive a message similar to the one above.

     
    Posted in Mobile | Comments Off


     

    © Copyright 2013 Trend Micro Inc. All rights reserved. Legal Notice