No, that’s not a typo. The title for this blog entry is really “Updating VVindows”, with a double V instead of a W. If you’ve noticed that the word “Windows” was written with two Vs instead of a W, then good for you. Chances are, you won’t be easily fooled by VVINDOWSUPDATE.COM
According to Sunbelt’s Blog, there is a newly registered domain name called VVINDOWSUPDATE.COM. Created last July 9, this site apparently wants to trick people into thinking that it’s the actual update site for Windows (which is actually http://www.update.microsoft.com). Although there are no pages on the site yet, it’s highly possible that VVINDOWSUPDATE.COM can be used for future web threat attacks.
Here’s some related info on the domain:
Domain Name: VVINDOWSUPDATE.COM
Registrant:
SSS Inc.
Ivan P Sidorov ********@spywaresoftstop.com)
Mira 1-90
Moscow
Karachaevo-Cherkesskaya Respublika,333444
RU
Tel. +543.87987665
Creation Date: 09-Jul-2007
Expiration Date: 09-Jul-2008
Domain servers in listed order:
ns2.vvindowsupdate.com
ns1.vvindowsupdate.com
It seems suspicious that the registrant is in Russia, don’t you think?
As a safety measure, before clicking on any link claiming that it’s a Windows update site, check for the URL. It should be http://www.update.microsoft.com.
If you're new here, you may want to subscribe to our RSS feed. Thanks for visiting!



